International Committee in Search of Justice (ISJ) condemns vicious missile attack on Camp Liberty

Press release – 29 October 2015 – #CampLiberty

International Committee in Search of Justice (ISJ) condemns vicious missile attack on Camp Liberty 

-- IMG_8919Over 20 people were killed tonight in the most lethal attack so far on Camp Liberty near Baghdad airport where some 2400 defenceless Iranian refugees have been kept in unsafe and inhuman conditions by the Iraqi Government over the past few years.

The attack was conducted with some 80 missiles of different sorts, some of which were Iranian made.

Camp Liberty residents who are members of the main Iranian opposition movement PMOI, have all been interviewed and recognized as asylum seekers by the UNHCR and are protected under international law.

The United States has the main responsibility in protecting the residents of Camp Liberty as it had signed individual agreements with each of the residents and given them written commitment of protection.

The ISJ has repeatedly warned against the Iranian regime’s interference in Iraq and its agenda to physically eliminate its opponents in Liberty.

Since the Iraqi Government has shown to be absolutely unable of protecting these Iranian refugees, it is time the United States lives up to its written commitments and would take immediate measures to prevent further attacks on Camp Liberty.

The UN High Commissioner for Refugees, António Guterres and US Secretary of State John Kerry, have already published statements condemning today’s attack.

We call on the EU High Representative Federica Mogherini to also strongly condemn tonight’s attack and accept urgently the residents of Camp Liberty as refugees in the European Union before they are all massacred by Iraqi forces under the control of the Iranian regime and by Iranian agents infiltrated in Iraq.

Alejo Vidal-Quadras
President of ISJ
Former Vice-President of European Parliament (1999-2014)





About ISJ:

International Committee In Search of Justice (ISJ) was initially formed in 2008 as an informal group of EU parliamentarians to seek justice for the Iranian democratic opposition. In 2014 it was registered as a non-profit NGO in Brussels expanding its membership beyond elected parliamentarians to former officials and other dignitaries with an interest to promote human rights, freedom, democracy, peace and stability. ISJ’s campaigns have enjoyed the support of over 4000 parliamentarians on both sides of the Atlantic.


President: Alejo Vidal-Quadras, Vice President of European Parliament (1999-2014)

Board of Advisors: Patrick Kennedy, Congressman (1995-2011); Günter Verheugen, Vice President of EU Commission (2004-2010); Nicole Fontaine, President of European Parliament (1999-2002); General Hugh Shelton, Chairman of US Joint Chiefs of Staff (1997-2001); David Kilgour, Canadian Secretary of State (1997-2003); Ingrid Betancourt ; Prof. Raymond Tanter, President of Iran Policy Committee, Washington D.C.; Prof. Horst Teltschik, Chairman of the Munich Security Conference (1999-2008); Colonel Wesley Martin, Antiterrorism/Force Protection Officer of all Coalition forces in Iraq (2005-2007); Senator Lucio Malan, Quaestor of Italian Senate; Alessandro Pagano MP, President of Committee of Italian Parliamentarians  for a Free Iran; Antonio Razzi Secretary of Italian Senate Foreign Affairs Committee; Gérard Deprez MEP, Chair Friends of a Free Iran intergroup European Parliament; Ryszard Czarnecki, Vice President of European Parliament; Tunne Kelam, Member of European Parliament; Lord Carlile of Berriew QC, Co – chairman of British Parliamentary Committee for Iran Freedom, former independent reviewer of UK terrorism legislations; Lord Clarke of Hampstead CBE, Former Chairman of UK Labour Party;  Lord Maginnis of Drumglass; Lord Dholakia OBE, Deputy Leader of Liberal Democrats in House of Lords